Emma’s Story (Part 1 – Pregnancy)

Emma’s story begins well before January, 21st, 2013, the day she first graced us with her sweet face. Technically it started about 9 months before that, but I won’t give you all the gory details of exactly how it all began. I will just say that we were uncertain whether we would ever be able to have a baby due to my advanced age, as well as some health issues on my part, so we were quite surprised by how quickly and easily she came into being!

We found out that I was pregnant on June 9th, 2012 just hours before our friend Bryan’s birthday party. We were both pretty shocked (we were trying, we just weren’t expecting such quick results), and it was so incredibly hard to act normally in front of a big group of people including some of our closest friends!

The “morning” sickness actually began before I even knew I was pregnant (and I was only 3 weeks along when I found out). And for those of you who have been pregnant before, you know that “morning” is far from an accurate description. For me it was morning, noon, and nights filled with nausea, vomiting, and the inability to eat, or keep anything down for months on end. After suffering in silence for several months, I finally complained to my doctor midway through my second trimester, and she explained that what I was experiencing was not normal and so she convinced me that for my own health and that of my growing child I needed to take anti-nausea medication. That eliminated the vomiting and allowed me to eat, but I still experienced varying levels of nausea all the way until her delivery.

On September 24th I had an ultrasound and learned that we were having a baby girl! We also learned that there were potentially¬†some developmental concerns with the baby (more on this in another post). Due to these concerns, coupled with my “advanced maternal age”, we began having monthly ultrasounds with a doctor who specializes in at risk pregnancies.

At the end of November, I had developed high blood pressure, and began to have severe swelling in my lower limbs. I had several tests done and found out that it wasn’t in the danger level yet but my doctor “suggested” that I seriously limit my sodium intake, and cut back on my work hours a bit. I went down to working three days a week, and started spending as much time as possible with my poor puffy feet/legs propped up.

By early January my blood pressure had continued to rise, and after more tests were done I was put on bed rest. I can’t say that I followed that completely, but I did cut back to working very minimally, and spent the rest of my time sitting/laying with my feet up. (In hind sight, I have learned my lesson and for any future pregnancy will follow my doctors instructions to a T!)

On January 15th I saw the at risk doctor and it was decided that we would wait until I was 37 weeks (the following week) and I would be induced. An induction was scheduled for Tuesday, January 22nd, but it seems that my body and my baby had other plans!

To Be Continued…

Leave a Reply

