Stretched Too Thin

“I feel… thin. Sort of stretched, like… butter scraped over too much bread.”      – Bilbo Baggins (Lord of the Rings)

Right now, I’m feeling pulled in all directions.  There are so many things that I need to be doing and focusing on, that I feel like I’m not doing any of them very well at the moment.  I seem to be completely baffled with how to manage my own salon business, be effectively involved in the family Verizon Wireless Zone business, work on fixing up our house (which, thankfully, is nearing completion), be a loving wife, a good pet-owner, and just go about my daily responsibilities. Let alone, keeping up with my blogs, maintaining friendships, exercising and eating well, etc.

Normally I’m pretty good at multi-tasking, but when the house alone involves 101 things that need to be accomplished every single day (ok, maybe a slight exaggeration, but pretty darn close to the truth), it’s hard to fit anything else in life in!

Don’t get me wrong, I’m really not complaining!  I have some pretty amazing things going on in my life!  I’m so grateful for all these blessings!  It’s just that I haven’t quite figured out how to fit them all into my life in a way that I can do them all well!  I’m not typically one to half-ass anything (I’m quite the perfectionist, for those of you who don’t already know) but I feel like I’ve been doing a lot of that lately, I don’t have the time, energy, or motivation to do much of anything well. I had no idea that buying and fixing up a house would be so much work!  It will totally be worth it all in the end, but we just didn’t anticipate a lot of the work that was involved.

***To prove my point… I’ve been working on this measly little post for over a week and this is my fourth attempt to actually finish it!***

Anyway, in the very near future I think I will need to sit down and assess and prioritize my life and figure out a way to do the important things to the best of my ability.  I have funny feeling that my life will soon take a turn for the better once this house project is completed.  I look forward to more time relaxing with my husband, time for blogging, and time for Zumba, and all the other things that have really been neglected for the last six months.

Leave a Reply

