Adventures in Weight Watching (Week 1)

I just weighed in after my first week returning to Weight Watchers after more than a month off. I ended up with a 3 lb loss, which really just brings me back down to where I was before I took a break.
I’ve definitely been in a bit of a slump for several months now, and haven’t really been losing anything (up a pound one week, down one the next). I’m hoping that this break will jump start things and get me losing consistently again.
My current short term goal is to lose at least 8.4 lbs by 2/27/12. Technically, I should be able to lose more than that, but I wanted to give myself an attainable goal because I’m not really in a good position to be disappointed again!
Weight Watchers has adjusted the program slightly for 2012, but I don’t know much about it yet. The two changes I’ve heard about are that you can now eat 3 points less than before if you do not experience weight-loss on your original number (I will definitely try this if I start to plateau again) and now you can use the Simply Filling method from day to day rather than only week to week. I’ve never actually done Simply Filling, but basically it is eating only Power Foods (foods known to be filling and sustain you) and you eat until you’re satisfied, no point counting is involved. Does anyone else have a better understanding of Points Plus 2012? I’d love to hear any other information. Because my Internet access is extremely limited right now, I haven’t really been able to find out much.

3 thoughts on “Adventures in Weight Watching (Week 1)

  1. Hey Juleen,

    With PP12, They also are introducing an APP goal, that by the time you are at your goal weight you are earning 4 APP a day, 28 APP per week.

    They found that because fruits and most veggies are zero, that people were able to get their nutritional needs met with a lower DPP, so many people have a lower one than they did previously. For example, for someone at goal who had 29 DPP before, now have 26, etc. The 3 points you can go down, you can also go up, if you have a big event that you just want to maintain through. You still get 49 WPP, and can earn as many APP as you can do.

    They also have some new food values, one that many were excited about (me included) is that a glass of wine is now 3 instead of 4! I have a list of the foods that changed in my e-mail if you would like I can send it to you.

    And finally, there is a new work out video, “10-minute something” that breaks the workouts into 10 minute increments so you only have to have 10 minutes to be able to do one of them. They also discontinued some foods, including the Ranch Multigrain Chips (Sad Panda!) and added several more including Salsa Multigrain Chips (which are ok, but not as awesome as ranch, in my opinion), praline mini bar and a popped chip that is cheddar flavored.

    I selected both “e-mail me follow up comments” and “e-mail me new comments” so if you have any other questions, let me know! Or you can use the contact me button on my blog and I will e-mail you back.

    Good luck!

    • Wow, thanks for the info! That was extremely helpful! I would love for you to forward the email about foods that changed points. Please send to juleen76(at)gmail(dot)com.

  2. I learned more a new challenge on this weight reduction issue.
    Just one issue is a good nutrition is very vital while dieting.
    An enormous reduction in bad foods, sugary food, fried foods, sweet
    foods, pork, and white-colored flour products could be necessary.
    Having wastes unwanted organisms, and harmful toxins may prevent goals for losing weight.
    While specific drugs briefly solve the challenge, the awful
    side effects are certainly not worth it, and they never offer you more than
    a momentary solution. It can be a known undeniable fact that 95% of diet plans fail. Many thanks sharing your thinking on this blog site.

Leave a Reply

