Adventures In Weight Watching (Week 9)

Once again, it’s my TOM (if you don’t know what that means, you probably don’t want to, but I’m sure you’ll figure it out if you keep reading) and I had another 0.6 lb gain, back up to 222 lbs.  I was feeling really bloated this morning, and wasn’t at all surprised.  I know that next week will be better though!  I’ve been fighting to get to 15 lbs lost the last few weeks.  I’ve got 2 lbs to go to accomplish that and I’m gonna work really hard to try to make that happen next week!

Speaking of bloating… does anyone have some sort of miracle cure they can share with me?  I’ve been watching my sodium and caffeine intake, and it doesn’t seem to help.  I know that Pamprin is supposed to be really good for bloating, but thankfully I am not actually having any cramping so I wasn’t sure if I should take it.  I’d really love a natural cure, if you know of one, but I’d be happy to hear about anything that relieves bloating/water weight!

Today in our meeting (which my husband was finally able to visit with me) we talked about tracking more than just what we eat and it’s point value.  I’ve been doing a little extra by tracking how hungry I am when I eat, or whether I just had a craving for something sweet or salty.  I’ve also tracked how certain foods made me feel after eating them, or just in general how I felt after eating.  Was I satisfied, or full?  That helps me to see patterns in my eating habits, and how they affect my weight loss/gain, and see what things might need to be changed.

I finally jumped on the Chobani bandwagon!  For those who haven’t heard of it, Chobani is Greek Yogurt… and it’s pretty darn delicious!  A single serving of plain Chobani is only 2 points, and the Fruit on the Bottom version is only 3 points.  It costs quite a bit more than regular yogurt, but it’s totally worth it!  If you have  a Sam’s Club membership you can get it a lot cheaper if you buy a big multipack.  You can probably get the same thing at Costco, or any other bulk type store (I’ve also found that my Fiber One Bars are much cheaper there and come in a box of 20).  Here are just a few of the wonderful things about Chobani:

·      Only natural ingredients. Free of preservatives and artificial flavors.
·      Free of synthetic growth hormones. (Milk from cows not treated with rBST)
·      Includes 5 live & active cultures, including 3 probiotics.
·      Made with real fruit.
·      Twice the protein of regular yogurts.
·      A good source of bone-building calcium.
·      Gluten-Free and Kosher-Certified.
·      Safe for people with corn, nut and soy allergies.

By the way, I haven’t mentioned my husband’s progress very much here, so I thought I’d update you and let you know that he has now lost 31 lbs!  He looks absolutely amazing!  He’s catching up to me though, so I’ve gotta work my butt off now so he doesn’t start weighing less than me!

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Adventures In Weight Watching (Week 9)

  1. Pingback: Adventures In Weight Watching (Week 9) « Juleen Kenney, Hair & Makeup

  2. You are doing an awesome job, Jules. keep on keepin’ on! I know you’ll reach your 15-pound weight loss goal soon. It took me awhile to reach my 5% goal (finally 3 weeks after I hoped to hit it, i did). Sometimes i get frustrated with how slow-going the process feels…but I know that a year from now it will all be worth it! (And I know that even if the pounds aren’t flying off, we are still getting *healthy* with better eating habits & working out, etc.) You continue to inspire me, girl…glad we are doing this together!! Also, tell Noob he rocks! That is amazing!

    • Thanks Heth! I’m so glad you’re going through this with me! You’re doing great! If we aren’t able to meet up sometime soon, we’ll have to plan a trip to get our skinny selves together after we’ve both reached our goal!

Leave a Reply

