Adventures In Weight Watching (Week 5)

I’m down another pound and have met my 5% goal!  I can’t believe I’ve lost 12 lbs in 5 weeks just by tweaking my eating habits.  That is one important thing I really want to clarify, because several people have been asking.  I HAVE NOT BEEN EXERCISING!!!  This is not a fact that I’m proud of by any means, but I’ve been unusually busy since I started Weight Watchers and have not had any time for exercise.  Now don’t get me wrong, I have every intent to get back into exercising regularly asap (especially since I have a race coming up at the end of July), I know it’s good for me and I know it will help to speed up my weight-loss.  My point is that you can in fact lose weight on Weight Watchers just by changing your eating habits, entirely without exercise.

I wanted to address the issue of low point snacks today because I’ve had quite a few questions about that.  Weight Watchers makes tons of snacks, some that you can get at the grocery store and some you can only get at your local meetings.  I buy a few of those, but I’m not really going to address them here because obviously, if it says Weight Watchers on the pack then it’s a low point snack!

I’m a big fan of ice cream, especially now as the weather is warming up.  Meijer, the local grocery store in my area, carries a Meijer brand version of the WW ice cream bars and ice cream sandwiches (I suspect other stores carry similar items as well).  They are delicious, and about half the cost of the original.  We also get the Skinny Cow brand of ice cream treats, which lists the point value on them and they tend to go on sale a lot.  You can also find sugar free popsicles, just make sure it says sugar free NOT no sugar added.  There is a difference!

Fiber One makes all kinds of low point items.  In case you haven’t figured it out yet, if it’s got Fiber in the name, it’s probably got a low point value!  We eat Fiber One cereal, and Fiber One bars.  The bars are pretty tasty, I particularly love the Chocolate Peanut Butter 90 Calorie Bar which are only 2 points.

If you’re looking for a salty snack, my go to item is Pringles Stix, preferably the Pizza flavored ones!  They are only 2 points as well and come in single serving packs that are great for when you’re on the go!

If you have a Target Store  near you, their Archer Farms Brand makes Simply Balanced Organic Real Fruit Strips.  They come in a variety of flavors, which are all delicious!  Each strip is only 1 point, and I usually toss a couple in my purse in the morning to snack on throughout the day.  If anyone knows of another store, or brand that has something similar, I’d love to hear about it!

Mott’s makes two different kinds of single serving applesauce cups that are 1 point each and come in lots of fruity flavors.  Healthy Harvest Sauce is the one that I have been eating for quite some time, Mott’s Plus Sauce is newer and is essentially the same thing with Fiber added and some additional flavors!

Jell-o makes yummy sugar free gelatin (1 point) and pudding (2 points)!   I get generic or other brands sometimes, but have noticed that some of them have higher point values, plus Jell-o usually has more flavor varieties.  I also occasionally put a little fat free Reddi Wip (0 points) on top too!

I know it sounds like I eat a LOT of prepackaged, single serving foods.  I don’t usually like to because they typically aren’t as healthy, and they often cost more that way but under the circumstances, I find it’s worth it for the convenience because I eat at least two meals a day on the go (sometimes more) and this way I am certain that I am eating proper serving sizes!

3 thoughts on “Adventures In Weight Watching (Week 5)

  1. Pingback: Adventures In Weight Watching (Week 5) « Juleen Kenney, Hair & Makeup

  2. I am always in search of new snack ideas and I love this post. I try to limit the amount of processed food I am intaking but the reality is that it’s easier said than done. Sometimes you are better off having good and quick snacks on had, even if they are processed, instead of just grabbing fast food. Oh, and I love ice cream too and my summer ice cream craze has fully kicked. I love the WW chocolate dipped strawberry ice cream bars. Yum!

Leave a Reply

