Communication Delivered…

“Communication delivered is not the same as communication received”

Lately I’ve been doing a lot of thinking about relationship in general and how I interact with the people in my life.  I heard the preceeding quote the other day and it really made a lot of sense to me.  I tend to believe that I am a pretty good communicator, but often times peoples response to what I say seems to indicate otherwise.  I feel like I am communicating my thoughts clearly, but the other person is not always hearing what it is that I really intend to say.  Sometimes it’s not a big deal and is an easy mistake to clear up, but other times these misunderstandings can have huge ramifications on a relationship.  The other day I off handedly said something to a friend that was taken completely in the wrong way.  This led to some tension and frustration between us until we finally talked it out and realized what had brought about the confusion.  I assumed I had communicated clearly, he assumed that he understand what I was saying.  We both were wrong!  What a mess!  How do you communicate in a way that you know without a doubt that the listener understands both your words and your intent?

 

2 thoughts on “Communication Delivered…

  1. You have caught a glimpse into the world of marriage.

    In my experience, the only way to win with this is to talk about the way you talk. “When I say this, you hear ….?” I am horrible with this, especially when it’s not the words that mattered, but how I said the words…

Leave a Reply

