Dear Client, Where Are You?

I have but one complaint in life at the moment!  I am getting very poor this month!  January is typically a very slow time of year in the salon industry, and this year it has been particularly unkind to me!  It seems like every single day I have had a multitude of clients either cancel their appointments at the very last minute or just not show up at all.  I don’t know if people just don’t get how that affects my day and my income, or if they just don’t care!  I really don’t mean to get all bitchy about it, but I honestly don’t think that people understand!  Therefore, I’m going to take a minute to educate you all on the proper etiquette of scheduling appointments!  I am self-employed, and so I pay rent at my salon every week.  I have to pay my rent regardless of whether I have any clients or not.  If I don’t make enough money in a week, I am actually paying to go to work!  Consider this, If you don’t show up for your appointment, whatever amount your service would have cost is essentially deducted from my weekly income.  For example, if you cancel a highlight appointment, my income for that week is approximately $100 less than it would have been.  When people cancel their appointments at the last minute, it also causes two other problems.  First, it leaves a gap in my day where I just sit there and wait (and hope) for the next client to show up.  Second, it also eliminates the possibility of getting someone else to schedule in that time slot.  YOU are my income!  If I don’t see you, I can’t pay my bills!  I NEED YOU, DEAR CLIENT… WHERE ARE YOU?

Leave a Reply

