Again, I say Rejoice!

“Consider it pure joy, my brothers, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith develops perseverance. Perseverance must finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything” (James 1:2-4)

 “Rejoice in the Lord always. Again, I say Rejoice!” (Philippians 4:4)

Lately I’ve been getting a lot of comments from friends and readers about how miserable I sound in my blog.  Most of them know that generally I’m a pretty happy person, and so a few felt the need to express some concern for my well-being.   I decided to read over an assortment of my posts and came to an interesting conclusion.  When I am in a good mood I tend to be out of the house doing fun things with friends.  When I am in a bad mood, I am frequently home ranting on my blog.  I just wanted to clear up the fact that I am not any more miserable than usual… let me rephrase that… I am not any less happy than usual, unfortunately I just haven’t made the effort to blog about all the good things that are going on in my life.  In my small group Sunday night we got into a discussion about the concept of being joyful.  We all agreed that joy is not a feeling, it is a mindset that we must choose to have and work to maintain. I’ve come to the conclusion that this is definitely an area that I could certainly use some work on!  I realize that I can’t always be happy, but I can always be joyful!  This is my new goal for myself.  I am working on some practical ways to attain this.  First and foremost, I’ve decided that I need to spend less time focusing on the 10% of my life that sucks… and direct my attention to the 90% of my life that is awesome!  I am hopeful that in the future I will be inspired to write about all the positive things going on in my life.  I guess you’ll have to just keep reading and see!

Leave a Reply

