Sleepless Nights

Why is it that even when I am completely run down and ready to sleep, something will end up keeping me up anyway?  Last night I was in a state of utter exhaustion, both mentally and physically drained.  I planned to go to bed a little early, because I clearly needed the sleep, and actually thought I’d be able to fall asleep for once.  The first sign of a problem began with a late night phone call from a long distant friend who I’ve been playing phone tag with for weeks.  Normally, I would have let the call go, but under the circumstances I needed to talk.  That kept me up until just after midnight, but that still would have left me with more than 8 hours of uninterrupted sleep if I fell asleep relatively quickly.  I collapsed into exhaustion, but was rudely woken at 2:00 am by the dog barking at a car driving by or some other such nonsense.  That kept me a wake for a little while, but I eventually went back to sleep.  Then around 4:00 am I was startled out of a deep sleep by a loud crash!  I got up and looked around the house to discover that the towel bar in the bathroom had fallen off the wall.  I spent a few minutes trying to repair it and then went back to bed.  Once again, I laid there for a while before I could get back to sleep.  Then for a third time I was awakened at 6:00 am, this time by the dog again.  She has somehow figured out how to open my bedroom door and was standing next to the bed licking my face, wanting to be let out.  I let her out then went back to bed, hoping for a few more hours of sleep.  Well, sleep did not come.  I’ve been laying in bed for almost two hours and I can’t get back to sleep.  It’s almost time to get up now.  Oh well, yet another sleepless night!

Leave a Reply

